
VACATION RENTALS    

Vacation  Rentals  in  the  City  of  Prescott  are  

required  to  register  with  the  City  of  Prescott  

prior to offering the property for rent for a period  of 

29 consecutive days or less.     

  
  

If the  vacation  rental  is  in  residential  zoning,  

you  do  not  occupy  the  residence  during  the  

time  period  when  the  property  is  rented,  and  

the  facility  is  not  a  hotel,  motel,  or  bed  and  

breakfast  the  following  apply:    

1. Transaction Privilege Tax License issued  by 

the Arizona Department of Revenue   

2. Vacation Rental Registration with the City of  
Prescott   

3. Operational Requirements and Standard  
Conditions in City Code 4-9   

If you occupy and reside at the residence during   
the time  period  when  the  rooms  are  rented,  or 

the property is in commercial zoning, or the facility 

operates  as  a  hotel, motel,  or bed and  breakfast  

the  following  licenses  apply:    

1. Transaction Privilege Tax License issued  by 

the Arizona Department of Revenue   

  
  

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND    

STANDARD CONDITIONS FOR    

VACATION RENTALS    

The owner or agent for vacation rentals will be 

responsible  for  ensuring  compliance  with  the  

operational  requirements   and  standard  

conditions set forth in Prescott City Code 4-9.  The 

primary  purpose  of  this  regulation  is  to  mitigate  

short-term  rental  type  impacts  on  residential 

neighborhoods.    

  

The following are some important highlights of  the  

requirements  and  standards  for  vacation  rentals  

(review the City Code for  the detailed list):    

 Maximum overnight  occupancy  of  the 

vacation  rental  unit  is  specified  as  two 

persons plus an additional two persons per  

bedroom (thirteen years of age and older).   

 A   local contact  person   with  a  24 hour 

phone  number  is  required  who can 

respond in-person to the site of the 

vacation rental within 45 minutes to 

initial or successive complaints.   

 Prior to  occupancy,  the  local  contact 

person  shall  provide   the  responsible 

person  of  a  vacation  rental  with  the 

following  information  (this  information 

must  also  be posted  in  a  conspicuous 

place within the unit):   

o Good  Neighbor  Brochure   

(available on the City’s website or pick 

up in City Hall)   

o Name of the local contact person 

and  24-hour phone number.   

o A copy of  the  combined  business  
license/vacation rental certificate.   

o Maximum overnight  occupancy  and  
notification that  failure  to  conform  

is  a violation of City Code 4-9.   

o Trash  pickup  day  and  applicable 

rules  pertaining to  leaving or storing 

trash  or  refuse on the exterior of the 

property   

o Notice   that  noise   levels  shall  not  

exceed  those described in City Code  

5-4  o City Code 

Chapter 4-9.   

o Notice that the occupant may be 

cited  or  fined  for  creating  a  

disturbance or  for violating other 

provisions of the chapter   

  

 Prior  to  occupancy,  the  owner or owner’s 

agent shall enter into a  written  rental  

agreement   as specified in City Code 4-9- 

6(G).   

 The owner is required to notify all property 

owners directly adjacent to the rental that the  

property is used  as  a  vacation  rental 

including the name and 24 hour 

telephone  number  of  the  local 

contact  person. A template  letter is    

available    on    the    City’s website.   

INFORMATION REQUIRED  FOR 

VACATION RENTAL   

REGISTRATION    

Among other information, the  

following will be requested at  

application:    

 The  name,  address,  and twenty-four  

(24) hour telephone number  of  the  

local  contact person.   

 Evidence  that  the  applicant has  

provided   the   name   and twenty-

four (24) hour telephone number  of  

the   local  contact person  to  all  

property  owners directly adjacent to 

the property. An example of  

evidence  could be a copy of the 

letter and the mailing list.   

 The  number   of  bedrooms  in  the 

vacation rental unit.   

 A valid transaction privilege tax  
license  number  issued  by  the 

Arizona Department of Revenue for 

the vacation rental unit. 

 

WHAT ARE THE FEES TO  

REGISTER MY VACATION  

RENTAL?    

The total fee for a vacation rental 

registration  initial application is $95, 

consisting of a $30  annual vacation 

rental registration fee, and a  one-

time  $65  fee  for  the  health/safety  

inspection.  In  subsequent  years  

the  fee  for  renewal will be $30.     

  

 

 



HOW DO I REGISTER MY   

VACATION RENTAL?    

Visit  www.prescott-az.gov  to  apply  for  a   

vacation rental registration online. Registration  

fees  are  due  at  time  of  application.  Before  

issuing a vacation rental registration certificate,  

the rental will require a health/safety inspection  

by the building department.    

  
  

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX    

All   licensing   and   collection  of   transaction  

privilege  is  administered  by  the  Arizona  

Department of Revenue. Their online portal for  

licensing,  reporting,  and  payment  of  sales  

taxes is www.aztaxes.gov.    

As  a  vacation  rental  operating  in  the  City  

limits, you will be required to collect and remit  

transaction   privilege   (sales)   tax   on   gross  

income derived from the business activity.    

The City transaction privilege tax rate is 2.95%  

of the gross income. For all rental activity for  a 

period of 29 consecutive days or less, there  is  

an  additional  tax  of  3%  called  transient  

occupancy or “bed tax”.     

 
All  transient occupancy transactions  are  also  

subject  to  a  state  tax  of  6.325%.  The business 

codes for reporting the tax  are summarized 

below:    

Business    
Transient (<30 days)  

  
Code   Tax Rate    

Lodging-Hotels - City   044       2.95%   

Transient Lodging - City   144      3%   

Transient Lodging - State   025    6.325%   

Total     12.275%    

If the rental activity is for a period of 30  days  

or  more,  the  taxable  transaction  would 

be classified as residential rental.  In  that  

case,  the  total  tax  rate  is  only  2%.  There  

is  no  state   tax  on  residential rental. The 

business code for  reporting   residential  

rental  is  045.    

  

OTHER POSSIBLE LICENSES OR  

PERMITS REQUIRED    

 Police Department: Registration of  
security/fire alarm   

 Community Development: sign  
permits/building permits   

  
  
  
To view a complete copy of the City code,  

please go to: http://www.prescott-az.gov    

  
  

 

 

 

  
  
  

  City Manager Department    

Code Compliance Division    
201 N. Montezuma Street     

Prescott, AZ 86301   

Phone: (928) 777-1320   

Fax:   (928) 777-1255    

Email: code.compliance@prescott-az.gov    
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This  publication  is  for  general  information   

regarding  business   license  requirements   

and  Transaction Privilege (Sales Tax).   
For complete details, refer to the   
City  of Prescott  Privilege &  Use  Tax Code 

and related regulations.  In the case of an 

inconsistency or  omission  in  this  

publication,  the  language  of  the  Model  City  

Tax  Code will prevail.   
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